Faculty and University

Back to Study

As a student (Applied) Mathematics, (Applied) Physics, Astronomy, Computing Science and Artificial Intelligence you are predominantly occupied with your studies. In order for you to be able to follow your courses, an entire organization is needed. On this part of the website we illustrate briefly the organizational bodies that are necessary for for providing good quality education.

Structure of the University

In the figure below the structure of the University of Groningen (RuG) is depicted. The RuG is devided into faculties; the studies of the FMF are part of the Faculty of Science and Engineering (FSE). The University is governed by the Board of the University. A student also has a seat on the Board. The student-assessor is appointed by the Board of the University on the recommendation of the student members of the University Council. The board is responsible for o.a. the university strategy, accommodation issues and financial, personnel and material resource management.

They can make decisions that affect all students of all faculties. Recent examples include: letting go of the 1.5m rule in September 2021 and setting a limit on the amount of extra costs a student might be asked to make next to their studies.

Organizational chart RUG

Structure of the Faculty

The Faculty of Science and Engineering has an Executive Board which consists of the Dean, the Vice Dean, the Treasurer and Secretary. The board also has a student member, called the Student Assessor. The board is being advised by the Faculty Council.

The FSE has two branches: Research and Education. The research branch is divided into 13 different research institutes. Each of these institutes is coupled to one or more bachelor and/or master degree programmes. An institute can again be divided into smaller research departments.

The education branch of the FSE is also subdivided, namely into the Cluster Boards. Each Cluster Board (CB) oversees multiple studies, and the collective of them is called the School of Science and Engineering (SSE), which is headed by 2 directors. Each CB also has one student member representing the students. The FMF is in contact with 2 CBs, one overseeing (Applied) Mathematics, AI and CS and the other overseeing (Applied) Physics and Astronomy.

Structure of the Faculty

Each degree programme is led by the Programme Board, consisting of the Programme Director, Programme Coordinator and the relevant Academic Advisors. The Programme Director mainly focuses on the curriculum, where as the Programme Coordinator makes sure all of the other supporting elements, like the Study Associations, work together. They are also assisted by the programme committees (PCs). Furthermore, there is the exam committee to which a student must turn if he/she wants to deviate from the prescribed programme.